Are we in W5's Dark Age?

Forum for discussing in game politics, village relations and matters of justice.

Are we in W5's Dark Age?

Postby Galthon » Mon Oct 24, 2011 2:38 am

Evening, folks. I'm not generally much of a talker or a storyteller, usually being more concerned with just getting by, one day to the next. But as I find myself with little to do today, I find some thoughts running through my mind.

Now, mind you, I'm rather new to the Hearthlands. But I pay attention to things, and read history, and know that things were not always such as they are now. The great powers, such as they are, seem to be semi-mythical entities. If they still exist, they have seemingly withdrawn to within their own borders, and rarely take interest in anything outside their immediate lands. I have read great tales of wars between various factions, yet these all seem to be relegated to history. There are no more savage hordes hellbent on destroying all that they can't control, nor are there glorious empires staunchly enforcing their own order upon the lands.
Instead, we have a world of robber barons, pillaging and taking what they will, and retiring nightly to effectively impenetrable fortresses. Scattered among the lands, we have a great many freeholds attempting to eke out a living from the poor resources left untouched and the ruins of abandoned cities, those leavings not being worth the time of the great empires or the roving brigands.
What then, for those of us who wish to live as free men? Even did we wish to join with the so-called superpowers, they have little need and less interest for those us lacking connections to their social web. Perhaps we could indenture ourselves to the brigands, and hope that their whims will not lead them to instead butcher us for amusement. We can attempt to defend ourselves, aye, but lacking the training and equipment of warriors, we often find ourselves unable to defeat any but the weakest and most desperate of raiders.