Game Client modified by Ender

Forum for alternative clients, mods & discussions on the same.

Moderator: Phades

Re: Game Client modified by Ender

Postby HerrDoktor » Sun May 29, 2011 12:38 am

Okay, I cannot get this to work. Not at all. And before some uppity javamaster tells me to search the thread, I have. Thanks.

I get "Windows cannot find '-Djava.library.path=C:\herp'

Run.bat has
Code: Select all
start "C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6\bin\javaw.exe" -Djava.library.path="C:\herp" -Xms256m -Xmx512m -jar haven.jar moltke.seatribe.se.


I've already tried removing start.

I've already checked to see where javaw.exe is.

Haven.jar is absolutely in C:\herp.

I really don't see the problem here.

I've done this with both 32 and 64. Same result.
HerrDoktor
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:38 pm

Re: Game Client modified by Ender

Postby DatOneGuy » Sun May 29, 2011 1:07 am

Read thread:
Code: Select all
start "C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6\bin\javaw.exe" -Djava.library.path="C:\herp" -Xms256m -Xmx512m -jar haven.jar moltke.seatribe.se.

to
Code: Select all
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6\bin\javaw"-Xms256m -Xmx512m -jar haven.jar moltke.seatribe.se.


If the run.bat is where it friggin' belongs (in the folder) you don't need Djava, why anyone even uses it is beyond me. Don't add .exe to the end.
That's that.
Should see if you need to add in the -r ./res portion ; Also need to see if you need the updater portion.
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Hi. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
User avatar
DatOneGuy
 
Posts: 5553
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2010 7:50 am
Location: I'm in Miami, trick.

Re: Game Client modified by Ender

Postby mvgulik » Sun May 29, 2011 4:19 am

Removing "Start " when using "javaw.exe" is not needed, and actually makes no sense either.
- Start, by default, will fire and forget whatever it starts. (allowing for the CMD window that is created by the Run.bat file to close without waiting for javaw.exe to finish)
- "javaw.exe" will not return any console data back, as that's what "java.exe" is for. (As such there is no need to keep the Run.bat CMD window open.)

So in general these make sense, "Start javaw.exe" or "java.exe", and these do not, "javaw.exe" or "Start java.exe"
mvgulik
 
Posts: 3766
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 2:29 am

Re: Game Client modified by Ender

Postby DatOneGuy » Sun May 29, 2011 4:22 am

mvgulik wrote:Removing "Start " when using "javaw.exe" is not needed, and actually makes no sense either.
- Start, by default, will fire and forget whatever it starts. (allowing for the CMD window that is created by the Run.bat file to close without waiting for javaw.exe to finish)
- "javaw.exe" will not return any console data back, as that's what "java.exe" is for. (As such there is no need to keep the Run.bat CMD window open.)

So in general these make sense, "Start javaw.exe" or "java.exe", and these do not, "javaw.exe" or "Start java.exe"

Since you know all of this you should make a thread to point people to, or get it added to flowchart. :)
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Hi. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
User avatar
DatOneGuy
 
Posts: 5553
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2010 7:50 am
Location: I'm in Miami, trick.

Re: Game Client modified by Ender

Postby mvgulik » Sun May 29, 2011 4:29 am

DatOneGuy wrote:
mvgulik wrote:Removing "Start " when using "javaw.exe" is not needed, and actually makes no sense either.
- Start, by default, will fire and forget whatever it starts. (allowing for the CMD window that is created by the Run.bat file to close without waiting for javaw.exe to finish)
- "javaw.exe" will not return any console data back, as that's what "java.exe" is for. (As such there is no need to keep the Run.bat CMD window open.)

So in general these make sense, "Start javaw.exe" or "java.exe", and these do not, "javaw.exe" or "Start java.exe"

Since you know all of this you should make a thread to point people to, or get it added to flowchart. :)


I have been thinking about that, but keep putting it off :| ...
mvgulik
 
Posts: 3766
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 2:29 am

Re: Game Client modified by Ender

Postby Procne » Sun May 29, 2011 8:37 am

DatOneGuy wrote:Read thread:
Code: Select all
start "C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6\bin\javaw.exe" -Djava.library.path="C:\herp" -Xms256m -Xmx512m -jar haven.jar moltke.seatribe.se.

to
Code: Select all
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6\bin\javaw"-Xms256m -Xmx512m -jar haven.jar moltke.seatribe.se.


If the run.bat is where it friggin' belongs (in the folder) you don't need Djava, why anyone even uses it is beyond me. Don't add .exe to the end.
That's that.
Should see if you need to add in the -r ./res portion ; Also need to see if you need the updater portion.


People use Djava because first post, made by client's creator, says so:
Find where your javaw.exe is located and edit your run.bat file according to this schema:
Code: Select all
start "FULL PATH TO JAVAW" -Djava.library.path="PATH TO GAME FOLDER" -Xms256m -Xmx512m -jar haven.jar moltke.seatribe.se


If that is wrong then it would be nice if someone could verify it and fix the post. Since I could never make it work when following those instructions.
Procne
 
Posts: 984
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 3:04 pm

Re: Game Client modified by Ender

Postby KettenRak » Mon May 30, 2011 1:25 am

First off, your client was the only reason I played HnH past day one. The stock client was terrible, and your client made it playable.

I do, however, have a feature request. If it's possible, could you add an option to hide authority objects (banners, statues, etc.)? This would help out myself and my villagers immensely.

Thanks for making a great client mod and thanks in advance!
KettenRak
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 9:22 am

Re: Game Client modified by Ender

Postby kreowolf » Mon May 30, 2011 10:49 pm

First off, thank you Ender for a WONDERFUL client! Secondly, i've been running into the same problem that everyone else has at first, getting the "Cannot find "javaw" etc., etc.", i've been following this thread very carefully and followed every step to the letter. After many migraines (and three bottles of 200mg IBProfen later xD), I discovered a very significant solution to this... Check to see which client version you're running!!! Either 64bit or 32bit...

After adding the code line:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6\bin\java" -Djava.library.path="C:\Games\HnH_Ender_x64" -Xms256m -Xmx512m -jar haven.jar moltke.seatribe.se. -r ./res

to the 64bit .bat client version i downloaded, it would only load the CMD screen, spit some jarble at me, then close without so much as a "please wait while i do what you requested"... I then decided to try again with the 32bit client, putting in the same line of code:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6\bin\java" -Djava.library.path="C:\Games\HnH_Ender_x32" -Xms256m -Xmx512m -jar haven.jar moltke.seatribe.se. -r ./res

LO-AND-BEHOLD, it works like a charm! So, lesson of the day, if you have the 64bit version, try this same thing with the 32bit, see what happens and go from there....

Again, wonderful client!
kreowolf
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 12:30 am

Re: Game Client modified by Ender

Postby karlson2010 » Tue May 31, 2011 3:13 pm

For the problem with running the client:
in run.bat write this:

.\updater\HnH_updater.exe
start "C:\WINDOWS\system32\javaw.exe"-Djava.library.path="C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Desktop\HnH_Ender_x32\HnH_Ender_x32" haven.jar moltke.seatribe.se

Firsth path is the jawa location, 2-nd is the Enders client folder
Get the updater. Put in in Enders folder. Open Windows firewall and add exception to all jawa exe files (i got 3 of them....all different...so i decided to put exception to all...).

After I ran it like that for the first time I never had to do anything to update or whatever. It runs smoothly and I always start it with the run.bat file.

P.S. I did it like that both on a Win XP and Vista machine to get it to work as it didn't initially.
P.P.S. If you want to add graphics mods you just simply add them to the appropriate folders in the Ender client folder (probably best to make a copy of the original folders before adding the res packs - for example make res1 copy folder of the original ender). Personally I've put the low walls and cupboards and the Daji ones and they all work without flaws. Didn't like the anime style character portraits that came with the files suggested by one of the moderators as all in 1 pack so I manually deleted them from the folders inside res folder (sorry, nothing personal, it just seems to me anime doesn't fit well with the game). So they are reversible if you delete the appropriate changed graphics folders - it reverts to original client art by jorb. And since I like more some of his art instead of the proposed items in mods I can choose what to put on and what to leave as original.

I hope this helps fix your problems with installing and running the client and it's features.
karlson2010
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 12:55 pm

Re: Game Client modified by Ender

Postby Varka » Tue May 31, 2011 11:13 pm

What settings and API key should I set it to for the client to translate from Russian to English because default settings isn't working
User avatar
Varka
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 4:21 am

PreviousNext

Return to The Wizards' Tower

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Claude [Bot] and 2 guests