Game client modified by Gilbertus

Forum for alternative clients, mods & discussions on the same.

Moderator: Phades

Re: Game client modified by Gilbertus

Postby swordsmanM » Tue Sep 07, 2010 3:24 pm

MrPlow wrote:
Mqrius wrote:
MrPlow wrote:Ok, i searched and found the java.exe under C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6\bin, so i edited the run.bat like this:
Code: Select all
C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6\bin\java -Xms256m -Xmx512m -jar haven.jar sh.seatribe.se
pause

an he still says <<"C:\Program" is not recognized blah blah>>. If i put the underscore (C:\Program_Files_(x86)\Java\jre6\bin) nothing changes <<"C:\Program_Files_" is not recognized ecc.>>.
I think that doing the "proper" solution would be better, and i'm aware that if i have to edit the registry or the system files i risk to mess up the whole computer, but i'll double-check everything and i think i'll take the risk.

Actually, you're nearly there, and doing the proper solution would give the same problem.

You shouldn't underscore it, but put the path in quotes, like so:
Code: Select all
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6\bin\java" -Xms256m -Xmx512m -jar haven.jar sh.seatribe.se
pause
That should work.
The proper way is just adding "C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6\bin\" to the path, which tells your operating system you want it to look there for excecutables. For windows XP: link. For windows 7: link

Thanks, now it seems to work fine. Can't test everyting since server crashed, tough.

I have done this, and the cmd screen still just shuts down after I hit the enter key to continue
swordsmanM
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 4:00 am

Re: Game client modified by Gilbertus

Postby Gilbertus » Tue Sep 07, 2010 7:47 pm

About sending minimaps to some server and stuff.
I don't think its needed in the client and I never planed to put it there. It should be another application.
You map area with client, review it in browser and then run some application so send minimaps.
Gilbertus
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:29 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Game client modified by Gilbertus

Postby Mqrius » Tue Sep 07, 2010 8:06 pm

Onionfighter wrote:
Mqrius wrote:You can use a different client, of course, to opt out of sending map data.
If you like the idea so much, why don't you make a client so you can opt in.
That was the idea, I was considering making a client which would upload map data automatically, so people who want to help with the world mapping effort won't have to go through the hassle of uploading manually, and we won't have to fit the parts manually, and we won't get bad quality or badly merged maps.

Onionfighter wrote:And your other arguments are also garbage.
Please get lost if you have nothing better to say than personal attacks. I'm all for discussions, but I won't do a flame war.

Gulluoglu wrote:
Mqrius wrote:You can use a different client, of course, to opt out of sending map data.
No kidding, but this conversation was about playing the game with this particular client. Is the idea of some tickbox or yes or no option that says 'send all map data you accumulate this play session to BillyBobsBigMapServer' problematic to you for those that would like to use this client but not participate in mapping?
My view of things was a seperate client (Not pacho or gilbertus) that would be aimed at mapping. I currently have both pacho and gilbertus, and use them in different circumstances. The idea of a toggle is not "problematic to me" ( :| ), but if you were to download a client especially for mapping, with not much other functions, I don't see why you would want to turn it off. Of course, if this functionality would get included in a different client, a toggle would make sense.

Gulluoglu wrote:
Mqrius wrote:The minimap update is not realtime; it takes a while for the minimap to show your new constructions ingame. Not sure how long. As long as it's not updated, the third party can't get the data either.
Yep, I'm aware the minimap is not updated realtime. You are also just as aware that it is usually updated in less than 24 hours. This lack of realtime updating does not make you safer from raiding, which was the argument being made about security. It maybe cushions you a day at most.
True. I admit that this would be a drawback. It's hard to slove though; you can't make it so it won't upload those areas that have your village, because the client doesn't know where it starts, and thus doesn't know where your village is. I'm open to ideas though, I see this more as a brainstorming discussion than as me defending some idea set in stone.

Gulluoglu wrote:
Mqrius wrote:Ah, but you see, this is that segment of the playerbase enjoying making a map, combining all knowledge of the world...
No, seriously, I understand. I like exploring, I like making maps. The question to this segment of the playerbase was: What happens when the majority or entirety of the world gets automapped? Is the game now less fun? I don't know the answer to that but I suspect it would be less exciting to wander around since the sense of wonder is gone.
I don't know if the game would be less fun, but your argument seems strange; you say we should make maps and get to know our surroundings, but only up to a certain degree? I do enjoy making a large map, and so do others. There are also a lot of people who would really like having a world map, for convenience. Should we value the 'explorers' over the 'traders'? I don't know.

Gulluoglu wrote:Finally, in my opinion, people are right to be bit uneasy about the introduction of an idea that requires an altered client to send game-related information back and forth to some third party server that is not directly controlled by the HnH boys anyway.
DatOneGuy wrote:Here's the problem with the whole upload the map idea really...

If your client is uploading ANYTHING at any point to anywhere but the HnH servers, I opt out if I'm not compiling it from source, and even then I'm skeptical as all fuck.

Would it be a way to get maps faster? Yes.

Is it good security practice and will anyone with more than half a brain use it? No.

If you can have the maps compile in a way that is easy to compare them to other maps and mix maps together then it will work out fine and people can donate their maps to someone, or hell have a tool that goes along with it (another java program) that allows you to upload the maps.

As long as there is code to upload elsewhere to your 'personal site' or whatever, it's a problem. Look at how many people use Pacho's, now imagine if Pacho's had that code and one update it just tossed in the code to upload username/passwords? :P
I do understand the security concerns, and for that reason (and more) I would of course make it open source. I don't care for your passwords, but I understand you'd have to take my word for it. I also would like to note that for example pacho's client could have an update that uploads userdata right now, it doesn't need to have the map upload functionality.

My aim with a client like this, would be to make it easy for people to upload maps. No manual hassle involved, everything is done for you automatically. But I guess if everyone thinks that's too big of a security risk, it would not take off anyway, and I would have to look at different options, for example what you mentioned, having a tool that does everything, but that you run seperately.
User avatar
Mqrius
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 8:58 pm

Re: Game client modified by Gilbertus

Postby Gilbertus » Tue Sep 07, 2010 8:26 pm

swordsmanM wrote:I have done this, and the cmd screen still just shuts down after I hit the enter key to continue


I'm guessing its "no jogl" issue. Put -Djava.library.path with path to game folder to run.bat.
Code: Select all
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6\bin\java" -Djava.library.path="PATH TO GAME FOLDER" -Xms256m -Xmx512m -jar haven.jar sh.seatribe.se
Gilbertus
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:29 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Game client modified by Gilbertus

Postby Avu » Tue Sep 07, 2010 9:07 pm

So did we get multiple shortcut bars yet?
"Since all men count themselves righteous, and since
no righteous man raises his hand against the innocent,
a man need only strike another to make him evil."
User avatar
Avu
 
Posts: 3000
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 1:00 pm

Re: Game client modified by Gilbertus

Postby ElGato » Wed Sep 08, 2010 7:54 am

Avu wrote:So did we get multiple shortcut bars yet?

Not yet :/
burgingham wrote:We are all Gato, and Gato is Delamore of course. Goons blablabla...

Caradon wrote:Gato, the anti-ghandi

Sabinati wrote:yeah we're gonna kill you gato!!!
User avatar
ElGato
 
Posts: 1946
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 2:10 am

Re: Game client modified by Gilbertus

Postby Thurrok » Wed Sep 08, 2010 10:07 am

Am I the only one who thinks this auto-uploader client thingy would be just another error/macro in need of fixing by loftar? He already randomized coordinates, what's he going to do about this one?

IMHO it's just a waste of precious devs' time. Sure, big maps are fun, but against their idea of HnH. Also, everyone should be able to decide whether they want their maps published or not, full automatization would kill this beautiful client.
Menschen sind Scheiße. Überall.

HAIL CATFACE!
User avatar
Thurrok
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 5:01 pm

Re: Game client modified by Gilbertus

Postby Mqrius » Wed Sep 08, 2010 11:11 am

Gilbertus has already said that he isn't going to include full autouploading in his client. The discussion just so happens to be in this thread.
User avatar
Mqrius
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 8:58 pm

Re: Game client modified by Gilbertus

Postby Mqrius » Wed Sep 08, 2010 6:27 pm

Unrelated to the above discussion:

I've made a tool that stitches images from gilbertus' client together, so you don't have to view in your browser, and you can send it as one big image. Place it in the "map" folder of gilbertus' client.
Excecutable
Or if you prefer, the source code.

(It's derived from pacho's mkmap. I removed bits that don't apply to gilbertus' client, made it so it reads all directories in the map folder automatically, and improved the data structure, comments and indentation. If you find a bug, please let me know.)
(The tool might not work for huge maps, due to memory requirements. If that is the case, just send a zipped folder to me.)
Last edited by Mqrius on Tue Sep 21, 2010 11:20 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Mqrius
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 8:58 pm

Re: Game client modified by Gilbertus

Postby DigDog » Wed Sep 08, 2010 7:29 pm

Mqrius wrote:Unrelated to the above discussion:

I've made a tool that stitches images from gilbertus' client together, so you don't have to view in your browser, and you can send it as one big image. Place it in the "map" folder of gilbertus' client.
Excecutable
Or if you prefer, the source code.

(It's derived from pacho's mkmap. I removed bits that don't apply to gilbertus' client, made it so it reads all directories in the map folder automatically, and improved the data structure, comments and indentation. If you find a bug, please let me know.)
(The tool might not work for huge maps, due to memory requirements. If that is the case, just send a zipped folder to me.)

I love you. That's exactly what I was missing for a few days now.
burgingham wrote:You call that beer?
User avatar
DigDog
 
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 1:52 am
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to The Wizards' Tower

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Claude [Bot] and 2 guests