Metal Spiralling FAQ

Ask, answer and discuss any and all topics about the hows, whys, wheres and whens of playing Haven & Hearth.

Metal Spiralling FAQ

Postby kenny1281 » Thu May 23, 2019 4:27 am

Hi everyone,

I'm a beginner at metal spiralling and I thought maybe I would make a post about what i think the metal spiralling process is and include questions around it. (and questions from other users)
If any veterans would like to add some tips it would be great and I will add it to a list.

tl;dr
If you don't have the resources and time just buy hammer and anvils.

The Process:
    1: Upgrade your Finery Forge so you don't softcap bloom for this iteration*
    2. Gather LOTS of iron.
    3. Keep making wrought iron till they have reached around the quality of their anvil/hammer
    4. Keep making wrought iron in hopes for 7 "crits" which will guarantee 20% quality increase of what the product
    5. Make another set of anvil and hammer which will be "20% better"
    6. Rinse and repeat steps 1-5 till desired quality.

*Not doing so will eventually start to softcap your bloom and it will very quickly starts increasing the need for more iron to progress.

The Questions:
    loleznub wrote:
    DoctorCookie wrote:Does anyone know what effect finery forge quality has on the spiralling process?

Finery forge will softcap the bloom quality.

since bloom is the most integral part of how spiraling, it softcapping is very bad.

It is (forgeQ+CoalQ) / 2. If the metal you're spiraling is above this by a significant margin then you're best waiting until you can get better q coal or a forge.

Q: Which of the skills that affect the chance of wrought iron do we want/not want?
    A:
    MagicManICT wrote: