Why the new P2P system is essentially worthless for devs

Thoughts on the further development of Haven & Hearth? Feel free to opine!

Why the new P2P system is essentially worthless for devs

Postby dank_memes » Sat Aug 29, 2015 6:43 am

Let me start by saying that I'm a complete newbie to the H&H scene. I stumbled upon the game about a week ago and then this happened. Ooh, drama.

Anyway, I was looking at the subscription model Jorb & Loftar and started to ask myself a question: is it possible to monetize a game with such a small, cult following?

Let's start with some quick but reasonable assumptions. While I haven't been here long, I've generally been told that that the amount of regular players classic H&H gets has been hovering at around 50-100.

Let's be very optimistic, and hypothesize that completely ignoring the P2P controversy, the Hafen launch has been successful in doubling these numbers by drawing additional attention to the game. We're now sitting at ~200 regulars who play the game on a daily basis.

Now let's look at our revenue. A quick Google search reveals that mobile apps have a roughly 2% free-to-paid user conversion. Subscribtion and microtransaction-based PC games, however, report anything from 10 to 25%. Let's again be optimistic, and assume that user conversion is very good - 20% of players become monthly paid subscribers to Hafen (or slightly less, with slightly more engaging in smaller transactions - any other setup works fine).

Assuming everyone buys their game time 6 months at a time (again, shooting in the middle here), we get a gross revenue of 200 x 0.20 x 66.00 / 6, which equals roughly $440 USD per month (before taxes, but I don't even know if such a small revenue would get taxed).

So, what do we do with this?