Constant Client crashes

Forum for alternative clients, mods & discussions on the same.

Constant Client crashes

Postby cyrus9586 » Sat May 27, 2023 2:54 am

java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: unable to create new native thread
at java.lang.Thread.start0(Native Method)
at java.lang.Thread.start(Unknown Source)
at haven.Defer$1.run(Defer.java:297)
at haven.Defer$1.run(Defer.java:294)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at haven.Defer.defer(Defer.java:294)
at haven.Defer.defer(Defer.java:308)
at haven.Defer.later(Defer.java:330)
at haven.MCache$Grid.buildcut(MCache.java:474)
at haven.MCache$Grid.invalidate(MCache.java:519)
at haven.MCache$Grid.fill(MCache.java:720)
at haven.MCache.mapdata2(MCache.java:940)
at haven.MCache.mapdata(MCache.java:969)
at haven.Session$RWorker.run(Session.java:522)

Vanilla or ender dont matter. Happens mostly when entering buildings, mines, sometimes just walking around.
Former proud Owner of Hoo Cudda De Cheese Factory W9.
Mad God of New Sheoth W14
CHEESE FOR EVERYONE!
User avatar
cyrus9586
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 7:40 am

Re: Constant Client crashes

Postby dagrimreefah » Sat May 27, 2023 3:31 am

What OS are you using? Are you on a virtual machine? Seems the application is hitting the OS's thread limit. Going out on a limb here but If you can lower the stack size for the process that might help. Usually it's 1 megabyte but you can try lowering it using:
Code: Select all
$java -Xss1024k -jar /path/to/launcher-hafen.jar

...just put in a value lower than the 1024k value shown above at application startup.
User avatar
dagrimreefah
 
Posts: 2631
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 3:01 am

Re: Constant Client crashes

Postby cyrus9586 » Sat May 27, 2023 3:34 am

Sorry. Win10. no VC etc. Just using stanard client or ender. dont know how to add that
Former proud Owner of Hoo Cudda De Cheese Factory W9.
Mad God of New Sheoth W14
CHEESE FOR EVERYONE!
User avatar
cyrus9586
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 7:40 am

Re: Constant Client crashes

Postby dagrimreefah » Sat May 27, 2023 3:39 am

cyrus9586 wrote:Sorry. Win10. no VC etc. Just using stanard client or ender. dont know how to add that

You might be running too many applications, how much memory are you sitting at?
cyrus9586 wrote:dont know how to add that

You can open a command line window by typing cmd in the start menu's search bar, then just enter the above command into it (minus the $ and replace "/path/to/launcher-hafen.jar" with the path to your own launcher-hafen.jar)
Last edited by dagrimreefah on Sat May 27, 2023 3:51 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
dagrimreefah
 
Posts: 2631
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 3:01 am

Re: Constant Client crashes

Postby cyrus9586 » Sat May 27, 2023 3:42 am

128gb. Not an error there. I have 128gb of RAM installed and sit at about 8-10% depending on if chrome is open
Former proud Owner of Hoo Cudda De Cheese Factory W9.
Mad God of New Sheoth W14
CHEESE FOR EVERYONE!
User avatar
cyrus9586
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 7:40 am

Re: Constant Client crashes

Postby dagrimreefah » Sat May 27, 2023 3:47 am

cyrus9586 wrote:128gb. Not an error there. I have 128gb of RAM installed and sit at about 8-10% depending on if chrome is open

Weird. Definitely not that lol. I'm not too familiar with this memory allocation business, so the only thing I can tell ya is to try the above command to start it. You can also create a .bat file with the above command so you can just double click to start if it does indeed work. Good luck and hope you solve it
User avatar
dagrimreefah
 
Posts: 2631
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 3:01 am

Re: Constant Client crashes

Postby cyrus9586 » Sat May 27, 2023 3:49 am

Already made and testing out. Thanks for the hand.
Former proud Owner of Hoo Cudda De Cheese Factory W9.
Mad God of New Sheoth W14
CHEESE FOR EVERYONE!
User avatar
cyrus9586
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 7:40 am

Re: Constant Client crashes

Postby JTB » Sat May 27, 2023 12:12 pm

Well, in that case, what java do you have installed?
As fearless in death as he was in life
User avatar
JTB
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2020 2:10 pm

Re: Constant Client crashes

Postby vatas » Sat May 27, 2023 1:17 pm

There's also a launch argument to limit how much memory the client is allowed to use. If your run.bat has one for 1 gigabyte, it does not matter how much RAM you actually have.
The most actively maintained Haven and Hearth Wiki (Not guaranteed to be up-to-date with all w14 changes.)

Basic Claim Safety (And what you’re doing wrong) (I recommend you read it in it's entirety, but TL:;DR: Build a Palisade.)

Combat Guide (Overview, PVE, PVP) (Tells you how to try and escape, and make it less likely to die when caught.)
User avatar
vatas
 
Posts: 4508
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 8:34 am
Location: Suomi Finland Perkele

Re: Constant Client crashes

Postby loftar » Sat May 27, 2023 1:18 pm

JTB wrote:Well, in that case, what java do you have installed?

This, you'll probably want to check so that you're using 64-bit Java, rather than 32-bit Java. It's still strange that you'd be hitting thread limits with 32-bit Java, but since you have 128 GB RAM, I might guess it's not an unreasonable expectation that you have quite a few cores as well, right? The client does have a bit of a per-core thread allocation strategy, so perhaps all the thread stacks cause some sort of memory fragmentation problem. Just a theory.

vatas wrote:There's also a launch argument to limit how much memory the client is allowed to use. If your run.bat has one for 1 gigabyte, it does not matter how much RAM you actually have.

This is true, but shouldn't affect thread allocation.
"Object-oriented design is the roman numerals of computing." -- Rob Pike
User avatar
loftar
 
Posts: 8926
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 7:05 am

Next

Return to The Wizards' Tower

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yandex [Bot] and 13 guests