A rookie mistake

Forum for discussing in game politics, village relations and matters of justice.

A rookie mistake

Postby abysmalapathy » Thu Apr 26, 2018 11:53 pm

Living as a hermit, I was really excited to finally have finished my own mine. And I was lucky enough to be right next to some tin nodes (no iron yet but it was a start). Things were going great! This was actually the farthest I've gotten solo in any haven world. I've been playing for quite a few years now. But unfortunately, I'm still a complete noob. I didn't claim my mine. So, naturally, someone else came in and claimed it, destroying the palisade I had freshly built around the ladder.

Sigh, I made a rookie mistake, and now I'm exposed.

Thing is, the person who did it left a piece of really high quality ore behind, much higher than I could ever obtain on my own, so I know it's not some new player trying to steal my stuff. It's someone who is a much higher skilled player than me, who probably has access to really high quality shit already. Why do people have to do this? I would have gladly shared access, given a key, etc. But instead whoever did it has to act like a total dickhead.

I guess I'll be looking for somewhere else to live now.

Thanks, asshole.
and thanks, pea-brain for not remembering to claim your own mine. :(
general nub, pea-brain of the century
"Sonder - the realization that each random passerby is living a life as vivid and complex as your own"
abysmalapathy

Re: A rookie mistake

Postby Audiosmurf » Fri Apr 27, 2018 12:07 am

abysmalapathy wrote:Why do people have to do this?

Because they can. It's great that you seem to be taking it as a learning experience, though.
jorb wrote:Audiosmurf isis a fantastic poster/genius and his meatintellect is huge

NORMALIZE IT
banok wrote:i've been playing hnh thru 10 years of involuntary celibacy and I always build my palisade in 5 minutes so if a new player cant figure it out straight away they can get fucked and chug bleach
Audiosmurf