Can't seem to run the client...

The worst monsters in the Hearthlands warp the fabric of space and time..

Can't seem to run the client...

Postby Justin » Thu Dec 03, 2009 6:09 am

This looks like a great game and all, and I'd seriously love to play it... Every time I try, though, I get an error message, with details as below. After I copied the details and closed it, the game closed itself. I don't know the first thing about Java, but the words "Illegally formatted version identifier: "2.06a.00"" seem to stick out... If I try to run the client again after that, I just get a black screen which changes my mouse to what I'massuming is the game's mouse icon if I hover over it. If anyone might happen to know what this means, and if there's anything I can do to work around it I'd really appreciate it, as I'm seriously excited about trying this game out. Thanks again...

Code: Select all
javax.media.opengl.GLException: java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Illegally formatted version identifier: "2.06a.00"
   at javax.media.opengl.Threading.invokeOnOpenGLThread(Threading.java:271)
   at javax.media.opengl.GLCanvas.maybeDoSingleThreadedWorkaround(GLCanvas.java:410)
   at javax.media.opengl.GLCanvas.display(GLCanvas.java:244)
   at haven.HavenPanel.uglyjoglhack(HavenPanel.java:352)
   at haven.HavenPanel.run(HavenPanel.java:381)
   at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
Caused by: java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Illegally formatted version identifier: "2.06a.00"
   at com.sun.opengl.impl.FunctionAvailabilityCache$Version.<init>(FunctionAvailabilityCache.java:354)
   at com.sun.opengl.impl.FunctionAvailabilityCache.initAvailableExtensions(FunctionAvailabilityCache.java:133)
   at com.sun.opengl.impl.FunctionAvailabilityCache.isExtensionAvailable(FunctionAvailabilityCache.java:104)
   at com.sun.opengl.impl.GLContextImpl.isExtensionAvailable(GLContextImpl.java:351)
   at com.sun.opengl.impl.windows.WGLExtImpl.isExtensionAvailable(WGLExtImpl.java:1224)
   at com.sun.opengl.impl.windows.WindowsGLContext.setSwapInterval(WindowsGLContext.java:273)
   at com.sun.opengl.impl.GLImpl.setSwapInterval(GLImpl.java:30539)
   at haven.HavenPanel$1.init(HavenPanel.java:93)
   at com.sun.opengl.impl.GLDrawableHelper.init(GLDrawableHelper.java:72)
   at javax.media.opengl.GLCanvas$InitAction.run(GLCanvas.java:418)
   at com.sun.opengl.impl.GLDrawableHelper.invokeGL(GLDrawableHelper.java:189)
   at javax.media.opengl.GLCanvas$DisplayOnEventDispatchThreadAction.run(GLCanvas.java:452)
   at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)
Caused by: java.lang.NumberFormatException: For input string: "06a"
   at java.lang.NumberFormatException.forInputString(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Integer.valueOf(Unknown Source)
   at com.sun.opengl.impl.FunctionAvailabilityCache$Version.<init>(FunctionAvailabilityCache.java:326)
   ... 19 more
Justin
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 1:24 pm

Re: Can't seem to run the client...

Postby loftar » Thu Dec 03, 2009 6:26 am

It seems to be a bug either in JOGL (Java's OpenGL library) or your video card drivers; I'm not sure which is at fault. Apparently, JOGL uses the OpenGL version number to decide on the availability of certain functionality, and requires that the parts of the version number is only number, while your video card drivers return the version number "2.06a.00", whose second part is non-numeric, making JOGL crash.

Either way, there isn't really a lot I can do about it, unfortunately. You might try to upgrade your video card drivers and see if that helps.
"Object-oriented design is the roman numerals of computing." -- Rob Pike
User avatar
loftar
 
Posts: 9045
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 7:05 am

Re: Can't seem to run the client...

Postby Justin » Thu Dec 03, 2009 6:28 am

Ah... Alright. I'll see what I can do, then. Thank you very much for all the information.
Justin
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 1:24 pm


Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests