[OK] No launch on Debian - GL_DEFAULT not available - AMD

The worst monsters in the Hearthlands warp the fabric of space and time...

[OK] No launch on Debian - GL_DEFAULT not available - AMD

Postby zivy » Mon Mar 14, 2016 10:07 pm

*** START OF EDIT ***

As a rule of thumb, here's some output so you can guess it's the same problem you are facing.

Code: Select all
· Open your terminal (e.g. CTRL+ALT+T, maybe ALT+F2)
· Type "glxinfo" and ENTER
· If your output is: "glxinfo: error while loading shared libraries: libGL.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory"
··· then it's arguably your case;
· else if it looks like: """
OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: AMD Radeon HD 7310 Graphics
OpenGL version string: 4.2.11762 Compatibility Profile Context
OpenGL shading language version string: 4.20
OpenGL extensions:
"""
··· then it wouldn't be your case;
· else
··· I don't know, I'm not a gnu/linux savvy!


If you think you are facing, TRY THIS SOLUTION. If it works or if it doesn't, REPORT IN THIS THREAD ANYWAY. :D

*** END OF EDIT ***

Hello gals and guys,

I found this game very interesting and I hoped it run without any pain.

Instead, I incurred in some error preventing the game starts, but I can bet that's my fault. That's why I totally excluded to post in the bug section.
The problem is I haven't got any skill (and you can argue I won't survive in the game) and I was scared by this: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=39954 (actually, I cannot even describe the problem I faced for a keyword search)

May I beg for anyone's help? If so be, I will post something more detailed.

Thank you for the consideration.
Last edited by zivy on Fri Mar 18, 2016 10:27 pm, edited 2 times in total.
zivy
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:58 am

Re: Newcomer begging for help

Postby hyrle » Mon Mar 14, 2016 10:43 pm

Without more detail about the error, I can't answer your question for certain. However, the most common problem I've seen is that people have a 64-bit computer but have the 32-bit version of Java installed. While this can work in some instances, it won't work for Haven. You should try going to www.java.com and select the 64-bit version of Java and see if that fixes your problem.

(If you are not sure if you have a 64-bit computer, right-click on My Computer and choose Properties. Under "System Type", it will tell you if you have 32-bit or 64-bit. These instruction assume you are on a Windows computer.)
hyrle
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 2:09 am

Re: Newcomer begging for help

Postby MagicManICT » Tue Mar 15, 2016 12:12 am

If you can, post the error report as asked. You can select all (ctrl + a), copy (ctrl + c), and paste (ctrl + v) to your post. Bugs is just the general name for the tech support section. Granger was making that post as some people are bad about posting about some bug but give no real information on it and then the devs can't figure out how to recreate it or someone posts a tech support issue but then just post "please fix" with no information about what the problem is.

The issue isn't so much 32-bit vs 64-bit, the issue is using certain older Intel GPUs from circa 2009 or so and no longer received 32-bit driver updates. To be a bit more specific about what hyrle mentions, you want to go to https://www.java.com/en/download/manual.jsp. If you don't know what you're looking at, you may easily miss the "manual download" link. Get the "Windows Offline x64" download and run it. Odds are you are running a 32-bit browser since the Java autodetect function gave you the 32-bit download. (Windows Explorer under Win 7 has to be manually upgraded, and Firefox still links to the 32-bit browser unless you explicitly ask for the 64-bit version.)

Moving to Bugs for organization.
Opinions expressed in this statement are the authors alone and in no way reflect on the game development values of the actual developers.
User avatar
MagicManICT
 
Posts: 18436
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 1:47 am

Re: Newcomer begging for help

Postby zivy » Tue Mar 15, 2016 1:23 am

Thanks for your kindness. I didn't post any info because I do not know the netiquette and entering with an issue is not the best start...
But I don't think my problem is a bug. Do I need to move to bug anyway?

SOME DETAIL
I did three failed attempts.
The first attempt was running the autorun as such. Java didn't run.
Then I installed openjdk-7-jre (or 6, I don't remember). I used IcedTea Java Web starter and the logo splashed, the game started with the HUD and even the music, but it froze on loading map (after some queue message) leaving the window black but the HUD.
Finally, I installed the video driver (but I'm not sure it's correct). After the logo and some loading, this error occurred (no game window appears):

Code: Select all
javax.media.opengl.GLException: Profile GL_DEFAULT is not available on null, but: []
   at javax.media.opengl.GLProfile.get(GLProfile.java:909)
   at javax.media.opengl.GLProfile.getDefault(GLProfile.java:640)
   at javax.media.opengl.GLProfile.getDefault(GLProfile.java:651)
   at haven.HavenPanel.stdcaps(HavenPanel.java:61)
   at haven.HavenPanel.<init>(HavenPanel.java:74)
   at haven.HavenPanel.<init>(HavenPanel.java:84)
   at haven.MainFrame.<init>(MainFrame.java:183)
   at haven.MainFrame.main2(MainFrame.java:381)
   at haven.MainFrame.access$100(MainFrame.java:35)
   at haven.MainFrame$7.run(MainFrame.java:424)
   at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:745)


OS: Debian GNU/Linux 7 (wheezy)
Architecture: 64 bit
Card: AMD Radeon HD 7310 Graphics (1002:9809) [note: retrieved by the means of "lspci -vnn"]
zivy
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:58 am

Re: Newcomer begging for help

Postby hyrle » Tue Mar 15, 2016 2:38 am

Wow - very specific case - Debian Linux. Sounds like a tough nut to crack. In any case, I found a similar thread on Salem's forums - here:
http://forum.salemthegame.com/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=7782

In the case of that person, they figured out that their GLX module wasn't installed due to an graphics driver issue. It's very possible that you're having a similar problem.

(Salem is a Java-based game much like Haven, and made by the same main developer)

Wish I could help more, but I'm more of a Windows guy. Haven't used Linux since I dabbled in Ubuntu like 4 years ago. Best of luck - hopefully this information helped!
hyrle
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 2:09 am

Re: Newcomer begging for help

Postby zivy » Tue Mar 15, 2016 8:53 am

TL;DR: i doubt I can install drivers on gnu/linux. :/

My report in more details:
Code: Select all
I log in with my account.
I download "autohaven".
I run it.
Then:
    IcedTeaWeb splash opens
    IcedTeaWeb splash closes and opens in a fraction of second
    IcedTeaWeb splash closes
    Haven & Hearth splash opens
    loadings at the bottom right: (lasting less than a quarter of second each)
        Downloading Haven & Hearth: 100% Complete
        Downloading GlueGen Runtime v2: 100% Complete
        Downloading Java(tm) Binding to the OpenGL(r) API (ALL.AWT): 100% Complete
    Haven & Hearth splash closes
    "Haven error!" alarm pops up
        «An error has occurred!\nThe error has been reported.»
Then I close.


I think the problem is the graphics card and its driver.
As long as I correctly identified it: http://www.notebookcheck.net/AMD-Radeon ... 634.0.html
I didn't find the driver on AMD website for any OS.
My terrible google-fu directed me here: https://driverscollection.com/?H=Radeon ... x%20x86_64 I downloaded the 13.12 version.
At the end, I ran "amd-catalyst-13.12-linux-x86.x86_64.run" in the "Desktop" folder. (the folder has a different name for localization)

The surprising (and frustrating) story is that I got HNH opened after the splashes with at least the HUD, a bit of music and some writing.

Thank you for the consideration.
zivy
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:58 am

Re: Newcomer begging for help

Postby MagicManICT » Wed Mar 16, 2016 2:56 am

Yeah, I'm not a strong Linux guy, either. There are a few here, and loftar can give you some information if we don't have another person that can give some insight. I'll shoot him a PM and see if he has some time to look it over.

I updated the title to reflect the issue better.
Opinions expressed in this statement are the authors alone and in no way reflect on the game development values of the actual developers.
User avatar
MagicManICT
 
Posts: 18436
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 1:47 am

Re: Newcomer begging for help

Postby loftar » Wed Mar 16, 2016 4:04 am

zivy wrote:The surprising (and frustrating) story is that I got HNH opened after the splashes with at least the HUD, a bit of music and some writing.

Are you saying that it's working now?
"Object-oriented design is the roman numerals of computing." -- Rob Pike
User avatar
loftar
 
Posts: 9045
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 7:05 am

Re: Failure to launch under Debian

Postby zivy » Wed Mar 16, 2016 8:32 am

Hello gals/guys,
I said my second attempt - before I somehow installed the driverscollection driver - seemed to "work better" (fail worse) than the third attempt with the graphics driver.

As I wrote, the difference is where the "bug" occurs:
- in the former case: the HUD and some music started but without world view; (note the HUD was still: I could not interact)
- in the latter case: the javax exception I posted is raised.

Anyway, proven that I can't either roll the driver setup back, I doubt I can install drivers on gnu/linux if these are the results...

Thank you for your time!

P.S.: ok, I should post these issues in bugs. It wasn't clear.
zivy
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:58 am

Re: Failure to launch under Debian

Postby zivy » Fri Mar 18, 2016 6:54 pm

Guys, I hope you are still there because I'm not techie enough to fix this problem by myself.

My other attempts:
- I added the backports to the repo lists of apt and then I updated + upgraded. HNH doesn't work, same java error message.
- I installed libjogl-java. HNH doesn't work, same java error message.
- I installed libjogl2-java too. HNH doesn't work, same java error message.
- I purged libjogl-java so only there's only libjogl2-java. HNH doesn't work, same java error message.

Similar problems here:
https://www.chemaxon.com/forum/ftopic93 ... highlight=
https://www.chemaxon.com/forum/ftopic90 ... highlight=
https://sourceforge.net/p/openrocket/ma ... /29402032/
If it sounds interesting, my DISPLAY env var is ":0".

Any specific suggestion? For example: how can I install the GLX module?
zivy
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:58 am

Next

Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Claude [Bot] and 55 guests