The subject line says it - you declared a controlled shutdown while I was in the middle of getting a cart through a gate, so I hovered ready to login as fast as possible, lest some thief take advantage. To my surprise, logging in "where I logged off" put me on the other side of the village. When I got to the gate - the gate was closed, and the cart was empty - where I'd picked it up a half hour or so earlier to take it on a work trip. The extra boar was missing too - all I had was my inventory, and that probably because I'd personally saved it as soon as I got rid of the "shutdown in a minute" pop up. Basically, time had rolled back to around when I'd logged in to do that work, maybe a bit earlier.
I can accept that this happens when the game crashes - but do you have to do it on purpose? Also, it looks like you've brought back the intentional item duplication bug, in all its glory.
-
loftar
- Posts: 9096
- Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 7:05 am
- Location: Your character database
Re: Not Saving on Controlled Shutdown
It wasn't really on purpose. As I wrote in another thread, there was a new kind of weird shutdown bug which I only saw for the second time that time, and haven't been able to track down yet. To be sure, I'll be more careful on future shutdown until I've found it.
"Object-oriented design is the roman numerals of computing." -- Rob Pike